Jan-Willem Bos


Group Members



Contact and Job Openings



Bos Group - Energy Materials

  Welcome to the Bos group pages. We are an experimental solid state chemistry group with an interest in materials that may underpin current and future energy technologies.  

Left to right: Jan-Willem Bos, Maryana Asaad, Sonia Barczak and Srinivas Popuri.



  • Jan-Willem is Guest Editor for a Special Issue on "Half-Heusler, Silicide and Zintl-type Thermoelectric Materials" in Materials. Further information and manuscript submission following this link.

  • October 2017 - Jan-Willem publishes an invited scientific commentary on the computational exploration of strain tuneable spintronic Heuslers for IUCrJ.

  • October 2017 - Congratulation to Maryana for finding a postdoc job at the University of Manchester. Well done!

  • September 2017 - Sonia, Srinivas and Jan-Willem all present at the European Conference on Thermoelectrics in Padova.

  • July 2017 - Srinivas gave a presentation on our SnSe results at the European Conference on Solid State Chemistry in Glasgow, while Daniella and Maryana presented posters on half-Heuslers.

  • June 2017 - Our paper on the similarities between SnSe and classical phonon glass electron crystal thermoelectrics is published in Applied Physics Letters. Follow this link for the manuscript.

  • May 2017 - Jan-Willem co-organises and presents at the Quantum, Electronic and Magnetic Materials meeting at the Centre for Science at Extreme Conditions at the University of Edinburgh.


Older news can be found in the news archive


Heriot-Watt University, Scottish registered charity number: SC000278